Tasks Completed in 2015 and Research Results

The project "Innovation in Knowledge Management Company: typology, methodology and recommendations" (INNOVARRA) aims to identification and development of methods and technologies of knowledge management, corresponding to the different domains and types of knowledge of the enterprise, as well as providing the greatest effect on the final results of company operations.

 

Ideas about the feasibility of differentiation of methods and tools of knowledge management depending on the knowledge types and domains are supported by empirical research of knowledge formalization strategies of Shultz and Jobe. The same study has shown the importance of matching the knowledge type and forms of codification, as well as the relevance of the application of contingency theory.

 

To achieve its goal INNOVARRA project has been divided into 5 tracks of research. Track A examines the impact of various elements of intellectual capital on the operations of Russian companies, as well as the practice of knowledge management influencing on key elements of the intellectual capital of the Russian companies and, accordingly, have the greatest effect on the operations of Russian companies. Track B describes the knowledge types and domains and provides the basis for the differentiation of knowledge management methods and tools. The remaining three tracks are considering the examples of knowledge management methods and tools in several areas, namely: management of customer knowledge and knowledge about the products and / or services (Track С), knowledge in the field of operations management (Track D), knowledge in the field of strategic management and organizational development (Track E).

 

As part of the management of customer knowledge (Track С) emphasis is on the notion of customer orientation, that from the point of view of knowledge management is based on explicit (expressed by the client) and implicit (latent) knowledge of customer needs and the factors influencing them (including knowledge of the value chain of the client in the present and the future). A link between customer orientation and the related knowledge with the efficiency of innovation processes (with the creation of knowledge about the products and services) is found. Production and use of external knowledge (customers, partners) increases the effectiveness of innovation processes. During the innovation process with partners (including customers) knowledge is created through the interaction (cocreation) and ongoing mutual learning. The latter explains the relevance of such an instrument as the knowledge management / training within the construction and management of relational learning.

 

As part of the track В in terms of working with knowledge in the field of Operations Management relevance of context-oriented KM, support of knowledge networks, the presence of the single information space on the basis of ontology is proved, as well as the growing role of the Internet of things and socio-cyber-physical systems in the company operations is demonstrated. The use of such techniques and instruments is explained by the evolution of the discipline "Operations Management", due to the influence of current trends in the global economy and technology. Based in the late twentieth century, mainly on the methods of mathematical modeling of industrial processes, operations management in the XXI century increasingly detects binding to the management disciplines. The latter primarily include Management Information Systems, marketing, general management, strategic management and others.

 

As part of the work with the knowledge in the field of strategic management and organizational development (Track E) the attention was focused on the use of visual and matrix methods of knowledge structuring and representation.

 

 

 

Track A. "Effect of KM practices on business results"

 

Within the research the level of usage of knowledge management practices and the level of development of intellectual capital elements are analyzed. We also research whether there is relationship between these elements and company’s organizational performance. The data that was obtained with the help of a survey of 240 Russian manufacturing companies is used in the research.

 

One of the goals of the research is to define how different elements of intellectual capital influence company’s organizational performance. The results bring us to the conclusion that structural and human capitals have a tight relationship with company’s performance explaining 25% of variation of the dependent variable, while human capital is not significant explaining this relationship. We also find out that the influence of structural capital is higher in comparison to human capital.

 

The analysis of different knowledge management practices in Russian manufacturing companies brings us to the following results. About 80% of Russian companies apply organizational learning practices. Then next practices that are widely used are knowledge protection and IT management practices for knowledge management in a company. The least developed practices are the following: strategic knowledge and competence management practices, involvement of management team in knowledge management process and the development of organizational design for knowledge management in a company. 

 

 

Track B. "Typology and generalized enterprise knowledge map"

 

Systematization of types, properties and areas of expertise in the INNOVARRA is intended to differentiate KM methods and tools and is based on the idea of ​​the "triad": "knowledge domain - the type or characteristics of knowledge - a method or a tool of KM", that is, in a certain area is dominated by knowledge with some characteristics, which are better suited to certain methods and tools.

 

As a result of studies on track B a new typology of knowledge has been formed, the key feature of which includes only the knowledge types which essentially influence the choice of tools and methods of knowledge management (or groups). For structuring typical knowledge domains of the company a generalized map of knowledge was offered, based on three points:

 

 

  1. objects that are important for business;
  2. activities performed by the company;
  3. industries.

 

 

To differentiate the methods and tools of knowledge management we have performed their preliminary review, analysis and systematization of studies linking the types and areas of expertise with the methods and tools of knowledge management and conducted a pilot empirical study aimed at identifying the links between the types of knowledge, knowledge domains and tools of KM.

 

 

Track C. "Working with knowledge on products/services and customers, customer orientation"

 

As a result of the performed research on the track an integrated definition of customer focus was adopted where customer orientation was explained as company activities aimed to identify target customers and their key needs to create added value for an extended period of time, integrating the interests of the company owners, managers and employees to improve the financial performance of the company in the long run. Within the empirical study clusters of Russian companies according to perception of the customer orientation concept were identified.

 

The analysis identified indicators of customer knowledge of products / services that affect the success of their commercialization. It was also confirmed that for successful customer knowledge management companies need to form the customer knowledge base, as well as approaches to measuring these groups of indicators (which can be developed in the framework of consumer brand equity concept). It has been empirically verified that involvement of customers in the earlier stages of the innovation process and thus gain of additional knowledge from them, contributes to a higher chance of successful commercialization of innovations. It was also found that the strongest effect is achieved with the involvement of customers in the innovation process at the stages of ideation, innovation creation and development, while firms with higher levels of customer orientation are getting superior outcomes.

 

 

Track D. "Working with knowledge in operations management"

 

As result of state-of-the-art analysis of advanced approaches for creation and operation modern production (business) networks, particularly networks based on cyber-physical systems was developed a multi-level networked conceptual & technological model of knowledge management for decision support by the production networks participants. This model describes knowledge localizations into interconnected problem-oriented networks (social network, knowledge network, information network, work network, competence network and inter-organizational network) and using for support these networks information technologies (virtual community, HR & KM, Internet and cloud computation, crowd sourcing and recommendation systems for decision support, knowledge map, semantic-driven interoperability based on ontology using).

 

Specification of requirements to context-oriented knowledge management for decision support by the production networks participants was developed. The major requirement list (related the operational management specific) includes flexibility, learning from the user, consistency / integrity, velocity, open connectivity, reasoning, customizability, and hard' real-time.

 

 

Track E. "Working with knowledge in strategic management and organizational development"

 

 

The project examined major trends in strategic management. On the one hand that allowed proceeding to the analysis of methods of working with knowledge in this domain, and on the other hand - to justify the relevance of enterprise transformation management, as an element of organizational development, which provides dynamic capabilities for the company. The scope of strategic management includes different knowledge domains represented at the aggregated level - knowledge about customers, markets, products, partners, technologies, the enterprise itself. While enterprise transformation management mostly requires knowledge about enterprise; organization of work – about goals, business and IT structure, project portfolio etc.

 

An analysis of the literature identified the following problems in the development and implementation of the strategy:

 

 

  1. cognitive (information overload, the rigidity of the old points of view, and others.)
  2. social (different viewpoints of the team members and the need for their integration, and others.)
  3. emotional (lack of a sense of belonging to strategies, and other).

 

As a result of the review of the visual methods used in the tasks of strategic management and organizational development, 3 basic classifications of methods were suggested: K1 - according to stages of the strategic management process, K2 - according to knowledge aspect, K3 - according to the form. Also, as part of the research we have tested the classification of visual methods and the selection approach within the case study of reorganization of "Marketing" function at the large industrial enterprise.

 

It was indicated that matrix methods are more effective than diagrams for a number of situations and tasks. So the study included the review of matrix methods used in the tasks of strategic management and organizational development. As a result of the review the classification matrix methods was presented: the decision matrix; matrix of relations; tables; profiles.

 

The high potential use of enterprise architecture management methods and tools for work with the knowledge in the field of strategic management and enterprise transformation management was identified.

Выполненные в 2015 году работы и полученные научные результаты

Проект «Инновации в управлении знаниями предприятия: типология, методология и рекомендации» (ИННОВАРРА) направлен на выявление и развитие методов и технологий управления знаниями, максимально соответствующих различным областям и типам знаний предприятия, а также оказывающих наибольший эффект на конечные результаты деятельности.

 

Идеи о целесообразности дифференциации методов и техник управления знаниями в зависимости от типов и областей знаний подтверждаются эмпирическими исследованиями стратегий формализации знаний Шульца и Джобе.

 

Для решения поставленной задачи проект ИННОВАРРА был разделен на 5 треков исследований. Трек А исследует  влияние различных элементов интеллектуального капитала на результаты деятельности российских компаний, а также выявляет практики управления знаниями, которые воздействуют на ключевые элементы интеллектуального капитала российских компаний и, соответственно, оказывают наибольший эффект на результаты деятельности российских компаний. Трек Б описывает типы и области знаний и создает основу для дифференциации соответствующих методов и инструментов управления знаниями. Остальные 3 трека рассматривают примеры методов и инструментов управления знаниями в нескольких областях, а именно: управление клиентскими знаниями и знаниями о продуктах и/или услугах (Трек В), знаниями в области операционного менеджмента (Трек Г), знаниями в области стратегического менеджмента и организационного развития (Трек Д).

 

В части управления клиентскими знаниями (трек В) акцент сделан на понятии клиентоориентированности, которое с точки зрения управления знаниями основано на явных (высказанных клиентом), так и неявных (латентных) знаниях о потребностях клиентов и факторах влияющих на них (в т.ч. знания о цепочке создания ценности клиента в настоящем и будущем). В рамках совместного с партнерами (в т.ч. клиентами) инновационного процесса знания создаются через взаимодействие (cocreation) и продолжающееся взаимное обучение. Последнее объясняет актуальность такого инструмента управления знаниями как научение/обучение в рамках построения и управления отношениями с партнерами (relational learning).

 

В рамках трека Г в части работы со знаниями в области операционного менеджмента обоснована актуальность контекстно-ориентированного управления знаниями, поддержки сетей знаний, наличия единого информационного пространства на базе онтологий, а также продемонстрирована растущая роль интернета вещей и социо-кибер-физических систем в работе компаний. Применение таких методов и инструментов управления знаниями объясняется эволюцией дисциплины «операционный менеджмент», вследствие влияния устойчивых трендов в развитии мировой экономики и технологий.

 

В части работы со знаниями в области стратегического менеджмента и организационного развития (трек Д) внимание было сосредоточено на использовании графических и матричных методов структурирования и представления знаний.

 

 

 

Трек А. «Влияние практик управления знаниями на результаты деятельности предприятия»

 

В рамках проведенного исследования (с использованием данных, полученных на основе анкетирования руководителей 240 российских производственных компаний)  анализировался уровень использования различных практик УЗ, а также элементы интеллектуального капитала, влияющие на формирование результатов деятельности организации.

 

Одной из целей проведенного исследования было изучение влияния элементов интеллектуального капитала на результаты деятельности компании. Результаты проведенного анализа показывают, что структурный и человеческий капитал влияют на результаты деятельности этих компаний, объясняя четверть вариации этой переменной, в то время как отношенческий капитал не оказывает на нее влияние. При этом структурный капитал оказывает более сильное влияние, чем человеческий.

 

Среди российских промышленных компаний наиболее часто используются практики организационного научения – около 80% опрошенных отметили, что в их компании используются те или иные практики, поддерживающие организационное научение. За ними с небольшим отрывом по популярности следуют практики защиты знаний и применение информационных технологий для управления знаниями. Наименее же распространены практики стратегического управления знаниями, вовлеченность руководства в управление знаниями и практики организационного дизайна.

 

 

Трек Б. «Типология и обобщенная карта знаний предприятия»

 

Систематизация типов, свойств и областей знаний в проекте ИННОВАРРА предназначена для дифференциации методов и инструментов управления знаниями и основана на идее «триады»: «область знаний – тип или свойство знаний – метод или инструмент управления знаниями», то есть, в определенной области преобладают знания с некоторыми свойствами, для которых лучше подходят определенные методы и инструменты.

 

В результате выполненного исследования по треку Б была сформирована новая типология знаний, ключевая особенность которой заключается в том, что в неё включаются только те типы и свойства знаний, которые существенно влияют на выбор инструментов и методов управления знаниями (или их групп). Для структурирования типовых областей знаний предприятия была предложена обобщенная карта знаний, построенная по трем основаниям:

 

  1. объекты, важные для бизнеса,
  2. деятельность, выполняемая в компании и
  3. отрасли.

 

Для дифференциации методов и инструментов управления знаниями был проведен анализ и систематизация исследований, связывающих типы и области знаний с методами и инструментами УЗ. Также проведено пилотное эмпирическое исследования, направленное на выявление связей между типами знаний, областями знаний и инструментами УЗ.

 

 

Трек В. «Работа со знаниями о продуктах/услугах и клиентах» 

 

В результате выполненных исследований по треку В было принято интегрированное определение клиентоориентированности как деятельности компании, направленной на определение целевых потребителей и их ключевых потребностей для создания добавочной ценности в течение продолжительного периода времени, не исключая интересы владельцев компании, менеджеров и работников, для повышения экономических результатов компании в долгосрочной перспективе. В рамках эмпирического исследования были определены кластеры российских компаний по восприятию концепции ориентации на клиента.

 

В результате проведенного анализа были выявлены показатели знаний клиентов о продуктах/услугах, влияющие на успешность их реализации на рынке, также было определено, что для успешного управления знаниями клиентов компании необходимо формировать базу своих знаний о клиентах. Было эмпирически подтверждено, что вовлечение клиентов на более ранних стадиях инновационного процесса и, таким образом, получение дополнительных знаний от клиента, способствует более высоким шансам на успешную коммерциализацию инновации. Также выявлено, что наиболее сильный эффект достигается при вовлечении клиентов в инновационный процесс уже на стадиях поиска и отбора идей, при этом фирмы с более высоким уровнем клиентоориентированности получают лучшие результаты.

 

 

Трек Г. «Работа со знаниями в области операционного менеджмента»

 

В результате анализа современных подходов к созданию и функционированию современных производственных сетей, предложена многоуровневая сетевая концептуально-технологическая модель управления знаниями для принятия решений. Она описывает локализацию знаний во взаимосвязанных проблемно-ориентированных сетях (социальные сети, сети знаний, сети компетенций и межорганизационной сети) и использумые при этом информационные технологии (виртуальные сообщества, управление персоналом и знаниями, интернет и облачные вычисления, поддержка решений с использованием краусорсинга и рекомендующих систем, карт знаний, семантико-управляемой интероперабельности / совместимости на основе онтологий).

 

Разработана спецификация требований к контекстно-ориентированному управлению знаниями для поддержки принятия решений участниками производственных сетей, включающая требования - гибкость, обучаемость от пользователя, целостность, скорость реагирования на изменения, открытость,  обоснованность, настраиваемость на потребителя, быстрота реакции.

 

 

Трек Д. «Работа со знаниями в области стратегического менеджмента и организационного развития»

 

В проекте рассматриваются основные тенденции в области стратегического менеджмента. Это с одной стороны позволило перейти к анализу методов работы со знаниями в этой области, а с другой – обосновать актуальность управления трансформациями предприятия, как элемента организационного развития, обеспечивающего динамические способности компании. В сферу внимания стратегического менеджмента попадают различные области знаний, представленные на обобщенном уровне – знания о клиентах, рынке, продуктах, партнерах, технологиях, самом предприятии. Для задач управления трансформациями предприятия выявлены потребности в знаниях о самом предприятии и организации его работы – о целях, структуре бизнеса и ИТ, проектах развития и др.

 

На основе анализа литературы  были выявлены следующие проблемы в процессе стратегического управления:

 

  1. когнитивные (перегруженность информацией, ригидность  старых точек зрения и др.),
  2. социальные (различие точек зрения членов команды и необходимость их интеграции и др.),
  3. эмоциональные (отсутствие чувства сопричастности стратегии и др.).

 

В результате обзора визуальных методов, используемых в задачах стратегического менеджмента и организационного развития, были выбраны 3 основные классификации методов:

 

  • K1 - по этапам процесса стратегического управления,
  • K2 - по аспекту знаний,
  • K3 - по форме.

 

Была проведена апробация классификации и способа выбора визуальных методов по аспектам знаний для задачи реорганизации функциональной области «Маркетинг» на крупном промышленном предприятии.

 

Было выявлено, что для ряда ситуаций и задач матричные методы являются более эффективными по сравнению с диаграммами. Поэтому в рамках исследования был проведен обзор матричных методов используемых в задачах стратегического менеджмента и организационного развития. По результатам  обзора была представлена классификация матричных методов: матрицы пространств состояний или решений; матрицы связей;  таблицы; профили.

 

Идентифицирован потенциал использования методов и инструментов управления архитектурой предприятия для работы со знаниями в области стратегического менеджмента и управления трансформациями предприятия.