Research Seminar “The Effect of Announced Downsizing on Workplace Performance: Evidence from a Retail Chain”

   

 

 

 

 

 

About the lecture
 

About the speaker

 

Time and place

 

Register

   

   

 

 

When: 5 April, at 17:00

 

Duration: 1,5 hours

 

Where: GSOM SPbU, downtown campus (Volkhovskiy,3), room 315

 

The event is recommended for: doctoral students, young scientists

 

Language: English

     

    

 About the lecture
 

Research Seminar of Graduate School of Management SPbU The Effect of Announced Downsizing on Workplace Performance: Evidence from a Retail Chain” will be held on April 5, 2016. Nikolay Zubanov, Ph.D., Professor, Goethe University Frankfurt, will be a speaker.

 

Presentation will be dedicated to the estimation of the effect of downsizing announcement on workplace performance using data from a German bakery chain of 193 shops. Faced with intensified competition, the firm decided to sell or close down 57 of its worst performing shops. During his research prof. Zubanov and his colleagues identified the effect of downsizing from a plausibly exogenous variation in the timing of the sale or closure announcement in the individual shops. They find that the announcements of the shop being sold to a new owner and being closed down reduce sales by 6 and 21 percent, respectively. The negative effect of downsizing increases with the share of workers with a permanent contract, even though permanent workers faced a lower unemployment risk. Prof. Zubanov and his colleagues related these findings to the literatures on downsizing and psychological contract.

  

     

Prior to registration remains:

 

Register now 

 

    

 About the speaker
 

 

 

Nick Zubanov is a Professor of Management Science and Strategy at Goethe University Frankfurt. He is an empirical labour economist by training, with research interests including employee turnover, firm productivity, workforce diversity and incentives.

 

Nikolay Zubanov is a visiting professor in Graduate School of Management SPbU.

 

     

 Time and place

 

 

When: 5 April, at 17:00

 

Duration:  1,5 hours

 

Where: GSOM SPbU, downtown campus (Volkhovskiy,3), room 315

    

   

 Have questions?
   
   

Nadezhda Kanaeva

Manager of Research Support Department

 

Tel.: (812) 323-84-53, ext. 614

 

E-mail:  n.kanaeva@gsom.pu.ru

 

   

Registration

Исследовательский семинар «Эффект реструктуризации на продажи розничной сети»

   

 

 

 

 

 

О лекции
 

О спикере

 

Место и время

 

Регистрация

   

   

 

 

Когда: 5 апреля 2016 в 17:00

 

Продолжительность: 1,5 часа

 

Где: ВШМ СПбГУ, Городской кампус (Волховский пер., 3), ауд. 315

 

Рекомендовано для: аспирантов, молодых ученых

 

Рабочий язык: английский

     

    

 О лекции
 

5 апреля 2016 года состоится исследовательский семинар Высшей школы менеджмента СПбГУ. С докладом на тему «Эффект реструктуризации на продажи розничной сети» выступит Николай Зубанов, Ph.D., профессор Франкфуртского университета имени Гёте.

 

Презентация будет посвящена вопросам оценки эффекта объявления о сокращении рабочих мест на их производительность, с использованием данных немецкой сети пекарен, состоящей из 193 магазинов. Столкнувшись с усилением конкуренции, компания решила продать или закрыть 57 магазинов с худшими показателями эффективности. В ходе проведения исследования профессор Зубанов Н.В. и его коллеги определяли эффект сокращений, используя правдоподобные экзогенные вариации в сроках продажи или объявления о закрытии отдельных магазинов. Исследование показало, что объявление о продаже или закрытии магазина снижает продажи на 6 и 21 процентов соответственно. Негативный эффект от сокращений увеличивается с ростом доли работников с постоянным контрактом, даже несмотря на то, что постоянные работники сталкивались с меньшим риском безработицы. Профессор Зубанов Н.В. и его коллеги связывают результаты своего исследования с литературой на тему сокращений и психологического контракта.

  

     

До начала мероприятия осталось:

 

Зарегистрироваться сейчас 

 

    

 О спикере
 

 

Николай Зубанов, профессор Франкфуртского университета имени Гёте, приглашенный преподаватель Высшей школы менеджмента СПбГУ.

 

Профессор Зубанов Н.В. специализируется на эмпирических исследованиях экономики труда, а его научные интересы включают текучесть рабочей силы, производительность компаний, разнообразие трудовых ресурсов и стимулов.

 

     

 Место и время

 

 

Когда:  5 апреля 2016 в 17:00

 

Продолжительность: 1,5 часа

 

Где: ВШМ СПбГУ, Городской кампус (Волховский пер., 3), ауд. 315

    

   

 Остались вопросы?
   
   

Надежда Канаева

Менеджер отдела организации научных исследований

 

Тел.: (812) 323-84-53, м.т. 614

 

E-mail:  n.kanaeva@gsom.pu.ru

 

   

Регистрация