Alexander Bekhterev

 

Alexander Bekhterev

Emarsys North America, USA

 

I have enrolled to the Graduate School of Management after I finished my studies at the Faculty of Applied Mathematics of St. Petersburg State University. In my vision, an engineering degree plus managerial studies would make a perfect synergy. And that proved to be true. At the Graduate School of Management, students are offered a few academic programs as well as an opportunity to select courses based on their preference.

 

It is worth mentioning, the education process for future managers is based off of the best traditions of foreign schools. The GSOM has academic staff from all around the globe (in my case, I had teachers from Canada, Australia, Bulgaria, and France). I believe this is very valuable experience considering the youth of Russian capitalism and managerial science.

 

The student exchange is a part of every academic program and this is, without a shadow of a doubt, a big advantage. Any business environment requires some cross cultural skills, and I am confident that every GSOM alumni feels abroad as comfortable as at home. Not only because all classes are held in English, but also all student are required to learn the second foreign language. Back in the day, I’ve chosen Spanish which helps me make positive impression on my business partners in Latin America nowadays.

 

Double degree programs is one of the features that exists at the GSOM. Without additional financial heavy lifting, you can get a diploma from, let’s say, a European school. And this helps a lot in searching of internships or even employment abroad.

 

Of all the aforesaid, do I still need to mention how good are networking opportunities at the GSOM? Our class was full of international students from Europe, South America, and Asia from day one. Moreover, many of my Russian classmates turned out to be from completely different corners of the country. And what were the things that brought all of us together? Those were educational drive, tenacity and assertiveness, belief in success, competitive and team spirits at the same time.

 

Apart from the curricula, students are actively spending their time outside classroom by organizing entrepreneurship clubs, participating in business case contests (and winning), as well as making their first career steps. The school is helping on all fronts whether it is a business project, a case competitions or job search.

 

At the GSOM, we’ve regularly had career fairs where all the market leaders were present including such companies as Rosneft, BCG, PWC, Coca-Cola and many others. Oftentimes, representatives of those companies held interactive seminars for students. Many of the latter received job offers right in the middle of their master program after a summer internship which is a part of the study plan.

 

In general, how a GSOM alumni can be portrayed? In a nutshell, those are people with the global mindset, entrepreneurial spirit, and deep knowledge. Very proactive and bright personalities. I am certain that everybody who has successfully completed studies at the GSOM is having great life and changing the world in a positive direction whether it is being done in Russia or abroad.

Top
Пн
Вт
Ср
Чт
Пт
Сб
Вс

Александр Бехтерев

 

Александр Бехтерев

Emarsys North America, США

 

В магистратуру Высшей школы менеджмента СПбГУ я поступал, окончив факультет прикладной математики  СПбГУ.  В моем видении синергия технического образования с менеджментом была отличным дуэтом, что и подтвердилось на практике. В ВШМ предлагают несколько направлений обучения, что обеспечивает гибкость образовательного процесса для студентов наряду с возможностью выбора курсов по личному усмотрению.

Стоит отметить, что процесс подготовки будущих управленцев в ВШМ построен в лучших традициях зарубежных школ. Здесь преподают иностранные профессора  (в моем случае это были профессора - экспаты из Канады, Австралии, Болгарии и Франции) — на мой взгляд, это весьма ценный опыт. 

В любую из программ обучения входит обмен студентами, что, несомненно, является огромным плюсом. Бизнес-среда предполагает умение адаптироваться к реалиям и культурам представителей других стран — и поверьте, каждый выпускник ВШМ  чувствует себя в любом международном сообществе абсолютно в «своей тарелке». Определенную роль в этом играет не только обучение полностью на английском языке, но и необходимость изучать второй иностранный язык. В свое время я выбрал испанский, чем сейчас приятно удивляю своих бизнес-партнеров в Латинской Америке.

Одной из «фишек» ВШМ СПбГУ является программа двух дипломов с иностранным университетом. Без дополнительных  финансовых затрат вы можете получить, скажем, европейский диплом. А это уже сильно упрощает процесс получения стажировки и даже работы за рубежом.

В свете вышеупомянутого, стоит ли говорить о том, какие возможности для нетворкинга открываются перед вами? С первых дней наши аудитории были наполнены студентами из Европы, Южной Америки и Азии, а многие из моих сокурсников оказались из разных уголков России. И знаете, что нас всех объединяло? Стремление к знаниям, упорство и настойчивость, вера в успех, дух соперничества и командная игра одновременно.

Кроме академической части, сами студенты активно проводят внеклассное время, обьединяясь в кружки предпринимателей, участвуя в престижных международных конкурсах бизнес-кейсов (и побеждая в них!), и делают первые карьерные шаги. Школа активно помогает студентам во всех начинаниях — будь то бизнес проекты, конкурсы или поиск работы.

Для нас регулярно проводились ярмарки вакансий с участием ведущих компаний из разных секторов: Роснефть, BCG, PWC, Coca-Cola и других. Представители этих же компаний зачастую сами проводили интерактивные семинары для студентов. Многие получали предложение постоянной работы уже в середине магистратуры — после летней стажировки, которая входит в обязательную программу обучения ВШМ СПбГУ.

Что можно сказать о выпускниках ВШМ в целом? Если кратко — это люди с глобальным мышлением, предпринимательским духом, глубокими познаниями, инициативные и яркие личности. У меня нет и доли сомнения, что каждый, кто окончил ВШМ, хорошо устроился в жизни и творит великие дела, будь то в России или за рубежом