Рус | Eng

Doctoral Student Final Thesis Defense

 
  • In order to graduate from GSOM Doctoral program each student must write and defend the final thesis (VKR in Russian). Final thesis must be presented and defended by student to the State Attestation Commission. Upon successful defense State Attestation Commission awards student with qualification of “researcher and lecturer” and diploma. 
  • Final thesis defense is organized at the end of the 3rd academic year, usually in June or in the beginning of July.
   
 Final Thesis Defense (in 2018)
 
   
Preliminary requirements for the defense
 
  • To pass successfully all test and exams of curriculum 
  • To submit copies of final thesis to the Doctoral program office 14 days prior to the defense – 2 printed and 1 electronic copies. 
  • To have at least 2 published articles in Russian scientific journal (A and B categories from the list of Russian Science Citation Index (RSCI) journals recommended by GSOM)** and at least 1 published or accepted article in international reviewed scientific journal (from ABS list)*
  • To have a positive scientific advisor reference about the final thesis quality
   
Requirements for the final thesis
 
  • Final thesis is written in English 
  • Thesis is implemented in the form of a student’s portfolio of scientific works accompanied by an extended introduction:
 
Portfolio of scientific works    Extended introduction

- Final thesis is carried out in the form of a student’s portfolio of scientific works written by the author himself or in co-authorship. If a scientific piece is carried out in co-authorship, the student’s contribution must be defined and characterized. 

- The portfolio should include at least two published articles in a journal indexed in Russian Scientific Citation Index (included in the list approved by GSOM SPbU, A and B level journals) and at least one paper published or accepted for publication in a journal from ABS list (Association of Business Schools). Portfolio may also include published (accepted for publication) articles or those in the peer-review process, top level academic conference papers that have been through a double-blind peer review process and are published in the conference proceedings. 

- It may also include working papers published in the Graduate School of Management, St. Petersburg State University working paper series as well as chapters in books and monographs.

- Final thesis is accompanied by an extended introduction, revealing motivation, goals and objectives of the study, justifying scientific novelty, main results obtained, logic of the published or prepared for publication papers.

- Introduction should explain inner logic and unity of the publications, their role in achieving research objectives, highlight new scientific results and evidence the author's personal contribution to science.

   
Preliminary evaluation of the final thesis by the opponent
 
  • Final thesis is evaluated by an external opponent (reviewer) according to the grading levels – excellent/ good/ satisfactory / unsatisfactory. Opponent’s grade is taken into account by the State Attestation Commission during the defense

  • The system of criteria for thesis evaluation: 

- justification of the research topic choice (accuracy of goals and objectives formulation; justification of the research topic choice, relevance of the research topic; accuracy of goals and objective formulation; completeness of elaboration on the declared topic; conformity of title, stated goals and objectives with the contents of the publications portfolio; extent of accomplishment of the corresponding goals and objectives)
- scientific novelty of the study (validity of scientific contribution; - accuracy and quality of the academic novelty formulation)
- logic and structure of the materials (justification of the logic of scientific publications presented in the portfolio; structured and logical extended introduction).
- quality of the content of the presented portfolio (ability to correctly narrate the material, absence of factual, logical and grammatical errors; compliance with the style of the chosen work format; correct usage of professional terminology; relevance of the content; depth of analysis; reliance on well-framed concepts when elaborating on the research objectives; fluent knowledge of the research theoretical bases; the author’s independence when conducting research: development and justification of his/her own approach to research, evidence of the author's understanding of theoretical concepts and possibilities for their practical implication, self-sufficiency in presenting the materials, creative approach, ability to reason one’s own point of view, clarity of narration; quality of the critical analysis of theoretical sources used; justification of the choice and quality of research tools and methods, their compliance with the research objectives; literacy in the methodology application and use of selected methods; justification of data (information) collection, the quality of data collection, their reliability, adequacy of the tools used, justification of approaches towards data collection and processing; generalization of the results, presence of theoretical and practical conclusions on the results of the work done)
- quality of the extended introduction formatting (formatting in accordance with the corresponding requirements (correct formatting of individual elements of the text: paragraphs, headings, subheadings, internal headings, formulas, tables, figures and references to them, compliance with the levels of headings and subheadings, presence of references to the sources indicated in the literature list, etc.), incl. the requirements of GOST R 7.0.5.2008 "Bibliographic reference")
- quality of literature used in the work (the relevance and completeness of the literature list, the correctness of its compilation, presence of scientific monographs, articles from foreign periodicals with a high citation index in the corresponding field).

   
Final Thesis Defense
 
  • Final Thesis Defense in performed during the State Attestation Commission. Scientific advisor and opponent are invited to attend the defense
  • Final Thesis Defense in performed in English 
  • on the defense there should be presented hard copies of the author’s relevant publications from academic journals, including two articles published in a journals indexed in the RSCI (included in the list approved by GSOM SPbU, A and B level of journals) and at least one paper published or accepted for publication in a journal from ABS list (Association of Business Schools).
  • upon defense Commission evaluates the defense according to the grading levels – excellent/ good/ satisfactory / unsatisfactory

Criteria for thesis defense assessment:

- presentation of the work (ability to correctly present the work, having stated main results and provisions in a limited time; quality of presentation) 
- completeness and accuracy of answers to questions raised in the course of defense procedure
- confirmation (hard copies) of author’s relevant publications from academic journals, including two articles published in a journals indexed in the RSCI (included in the list approved by GSOM SPbU, A and B level of journals) and at least one paper published or accepted for publication in a journal from ABS list (Association of Business Schools).

Рус | Eng

Защита ВКР аспиранта

 
  • выпускная квалификационная работа (ВКР) является формой государственной итоговой аттестации аспиранта, по итогам которой Государственная аттестационная комиссия (ГАК) принимает решение об успешном окончании аспирантуры и присвоении квалификации «Исследователь. Преподаватель-исследователь»
  • защита ВКР проходит в конце 3-го года обучения в аспирантуре. Обычно защита ВКР проходит в июне – начале июля.
   
 Процедура защиты ВКР (в 2018 году)
 
   
Допуск к защите ВКР
 
  • К защите ВКР допускаются аспиранты, успешно освоившие все обязательные дисциплины учебного плана аспирантуры. 
  • Аспирант должен сдать в офис аспирантуры текст ВКР на бумажном носителе (в 2 экземплярах) и на электронном носителе не позднее, чем за 14 календарных дней до защиты. 
  • Аспирант должен иметь не менее 2 опубликованных статей в журналах, входящих в перечень РИНЦ (список, утвержденный УС ВШМ СПбГУ, журналы категории А и В) и не менее 1 опубликованной или принятой к публикации научной статьи в журнале, входящем в список ABS (Association of Business Schools).
  • Научный руководитель должен предоставить заключение о готовности ВКР к защите.
   
Требования к ВКР
 
  • Выпускная квалификационная работа пишется на английском языке.
  • ВКР выполняется в виде портфолио научных трудов обучающегося в сопровождении расширенного введения:
 
Портфолио статей    Расширенное введение к портфолио

- портфолио научных трудов обучающегося, выполненных автором самостоятельно или в соавторстве. В случае если научный труд выполнен в соавторстве, вклад автора должен быть выделен и охарактеризован.

- портфолио должно включать не менее 2 опубликованных статей в журналах, входящих в перечень РИНЦ (список, утвержденный УС ВШМ СПбГУ, журналы категории А или В) и не менее 1 опубликованной или принятой к публикации научной статьи в журнале, входящем в список ABS (Association of Business Schools).

- Портфолио также может включать опубликованные (принятые к публикации) или находящиеся на рецензировании в других научных изданиях статьи, доклады на ведущих научных конференциях, прошедшие двойное слепое рецензирование и опубликованные в сборнике по итогам конференции, научные доклады серии научных докладов Института «Высшая школа менеджмента» СПбГУ, главы в монографиях.

- ВКР сопровождается расширенным введением, раскрывающим актуальность, цели и задачи исследования, положения научной новизны, основные полученные результаты, логику представленных опубликованных или подготовленных к публикации работ.

- Введение должно решать задачу объяснения внутренней логики и единства представленных публикаций, их роль в решении задач исследования, выделять новые научные результаты и свидетельствовать о личном вкладе автора в науку.

   
Рецензирование ВКР
 
  • ВКР проходит внешнее рецензирование. По итогам рецензирования выставляется оценка ВКР – отлично/хорошо/удовлетворительно/неудовлетворительно. Данная оценка учитывается ГАК при выставлении итоговой оценки на защите. 
  • Рецензия составляется в соответствии со следующими критериями:

- обоснованность выбора темы, точность формулировки цели и задач (обоснованность выбора темы исследования, актуальность темы исследования; точность формулировки цели и задач работы; полнота раскрытия заявленной темы; соответствие названия, заявленных цели и задач содержанию портфолио публикаций; степень реализации заявленных цели и выполнения поставленных задач).
- Научная новизна исследования (обоснованность научного вклада исследования,
точность и качество формулировки научной новизны исследования).
- Логичность и структурированность материала (-обоснованность логики представленных в рамках порфтолио публикаций научных трудов; структурированность и логичность расширенного введения).
- Качество содержания представленного портфолио (умение грамотно изложить материал, отсутствие фактологических, логических и грамматических ошибок; соблюдение стиля выбранного формата работы; корректное использование профессиональной терминологии; актуальность содержания; глубина проведенного анализа; опора на переводные концепции при выполнении заявленных задач; свободная ориентация в теоретических основах исследования; самостоятельность, проявленная при выполнении работы: разработка и обоснование собственного подхода к исследованию, обоснование авторского понимания значения теоретических концепций и возможностей их практического использования, самостоятельный характер изложения материала, творческий подход к рассматриваемой проблеме, умение аргументировать свою точку зрения, ясность изложения каждого из вопросов; качество критического анализа теоретических источников; обоснование выбора и качество инструментария и методов исследования, их соответствие поставленным задачам; грамотность применения методологии, использования выбранных методов; обоснование отбора данных (информации), качество подбора данных, их достоверность, адекватность применяемому инструментарию, обоснование методики сбора и обработки данных; обобщение полученных результатов работы, наличие теоретических и практических выводов по результатам проведенной работы.
- Качество оформления расширенного введения (оформление работы в соответствии с требованиями, предъявляемыми к оформлению ВКР (правильное оформление отдельных элементов текста - абзацев текста, заголовков, подзаголовков, внутренних заголовков, формул, таблиц, рисунков - и ссылок на них, соблюдение уровней заголовков и подзаголовков, наличие в тексте ссылок на работы и источники, указанные в списке литературы и др.), в т.ч. с требованиями ГОСТ Р 7.0.5.2008 «Библиографическая ссылка»).
- Качество использованных в работе литературы и источников (актуальность и полнота списка литературы и источников, правильность его составления, наличие в списке литературы научных монографий, статей из зарубежных периодических изданий с высоким индексом цитирования по исследуемой проблематике).

   
Защита ВКР
 
  • Защита ВКР проходит на заседании Государственной аттестационной комиссии, в присутствии научного руководителя и рецензента (при возможности)
  • Защита ВКР проводится на английском языке 
  • По итогам защиты комиссия оценивает ВКР по шкале: отлично/хорошо/удовлетворительно/неудовлетворительно.

Комиссия оценивает защиту ВКР в соответствии со следующими критериями:

- презентация работы (умение грамотно представить работу, изложив в ограниченное время основные положения ВКР; качество подготовки слайдов).
- полнота и точность ответов на вопросы.
- наличие у аспиранта публикаций по тематике исследования в научных изданиях, в том числе не менее 2 научных публикаций в журналах, входящих в перечень РИНЦ (список, утвержденный УС ВШМ СПбГУ, журналы категории А и В) и не менее 1 научной публикации в журнале, входящем в список ABS (Association of Business Schools).