Master in Business Analytics and Big Data – MiBA

  

 

Degree: Masters

Duration: 2 years

Academic credits: 120 ECTS

Language of instruction:  English

Exchange semester: Optional for the general flow of students. Required for Double degree programs

Double degree program: LUT-Lappeenranta

 

The digital transformation of business defines new efficiency challenges for companies in all industries. Competitiveness depends not so much on the availability of material and financial resources, but on the company's ability to make decisions based on the analysis of large amounts of data obtained from the digital environment. This entails an increase in demand for specialists in business analytics and managers of cross-functional teams who are able to offer effective business solutions based on quantitative data analysis. The answer to this market request was the opening of the Master in Business Analytics and Big Data program in 2018. 

 

 

Benefits

 

Program structure

 

Faculty

 

Career

 

Benefits of the program

 

Emphasis on practice

All courses of the program are implemented with the participation of employees of leading Russian and international companies. They have relevant knowledge and skills and are ready to share their experience with students. For example, MiBA faculty members include Data Science project managers from Odnoklassniki (NLP & CV course) and Segmento Deputy General Director (Digital Marketing course). In addition, guest lectures are a traditional practice on the program. 

 

Balance of hard and soft skills

The MiBA program is focused on the training of managers at various levels with both managerial knowledge and practical skills in the field of data processing and analysis, project and product management. The program contains courses aimed at developing management skills, such as Contemporary Strategic Analysis, Technology Entrepreneurship, Manager Professional Skills, and Big Data Project Management. At least 40% of the courses are instrumental. For example, the courses “Statistical Programming in Python”, “Machine Learning”, “Enterprise Architecture”, “Marketing Analytics”, “Design Thinking”. 

 

Exchange semester

One of the advantages of the program is the possibility of passing the exchange studies in the partner schools of GSOM SPbU. After the first semester, students participate in a competitive selection process, choosing foreign business schools that interest them. The number of partner universities with which GSOM SPBU implements bilateral exchange programs is growing every year. Today, it exceeds more than 82 schools, which in turn are world and national leaders in business education. The geography of GSOM SPBU partner schools is also extensive and covers almost all time zones and continents. MiBA students have the opportunity to choose courses from specialized partner programs, such as BI at the Norwegian Business School and NOVA in Lisbon. 

Learn more about exchange program>>>

 

Double degree program

Students of the program have the opportunity to pass an additional competition and enroll in a double degree program with the Finnish University of LUT-Lappeenranta. During the program, students will spend at least one semester at a partner University, and according to the results of the study they will receive an additional degree (Master of Business Administration) and a second diploma. 

Learn more about the double degree program >>> 

 

Program structure

 

The program is aimed at the versatile development of students - both in terms of professional business skills and analytical skills. Training is conducted in English.

 

loop

 

GENERAL COURSES

Machine learning 

During the course, students will become familiar with the basics of using machine learning in various fields of economics and management, as well as learn how to analyze data using modern machine learning methods and interpret the results of calculations. The acquired skills will allow students to work confidently in a modern statistical and software environment. 

 

Big Data Project Management 

The purpose of this course is to master the principles of effective project planning and control, including needs analysis, task separation, workflow planning, resource allocation, risk management, tracking, and performance evaluation. Students will learn the basic functions of the project manager, learn the difference between the management of ordinary projects and big data projects, and learn management tools (RedMine, Jira, Agile, etc.). 

 

Marketing Analytics 

The course covers marketing principles and aims to introduce fundamental ideas and concepts applicable to the study of digital marketing. Students will learn how to identify, track and analyze advertising mechanics, as well as conduct marketing campaigns in social networks. Students will also learn how to measure and evaluate the results and effectiveness of campaigns. The course is implemented in conjunction with Segmento, a company that has created a platform that uses artificial intelligence to optimize digital advertising targeting and develop a real-time digital strategy. 

 

Entrepreneurship 

The course aims to develop a critical understanding of how to turn big data into business and social value by integrating it into an organizational business model. The purpose of the course is to equip students with practical approaches and tools to develop, implement, and evaluate how organizations can develop digital transformation strategies and innovate business models using large data sets. In general, this module gives a clear idea of ​​how big data management can increase a company's potential for creating added value. 

 

ELECTIVE COURSES

The program also involves many disciplines that the student chooses for himself. These courses will allow students to gain more in-depth knowledge or, conversely, expand it.

 

Enterprise architecture 

The enterprise architecture provides a structured approach to the implementation of the strategy, which allows you to effectively and efficiently transform enterprises. The course includes analysis and design of the enterprise in its current and future state from the point of view of business and technology. Students will learn about the advantages and fundamental concepts, methodology, and main tools of the subject, learn how enterprise architecture services help integrate business planning and technology planning methods, and learn how to create and implement an enterprise architecture. 

 

Design thinking

During the course, students will gain knowledge about creative thinking methods and strengthen their existing skills in managing the creative process of innovation in a typical organizational context. The course is aimed at developing creative thinking skills, interdisciplinary cooperation, creative communication and presentations, as well as special management skills. 

 

Consumer behavior 

A few recent trends in consumer behavior are discussed and analyzed in terms of the company's ability to make decisions and get information about consumers. As part of the educational project, students present, discuss, and apply relevant advanced approaches, concepts, and tools for marketing research. 

 

DEVELOPMENT OF PROFESSIONAL SKILLS 

Practical seminars and trainings on the development of soft skills help to expand the horizons and skills of students. The training plan includes training in creating presentations, teamwork, conducting business correspondence and negotiations, as well as developing communication and social skills. In addition to developing "soft" competencies, the program provides training on working with special software products. All trainings involve active involvement of representatives of Russian and international companies-corporate partners of GSOM SPbU. 

 

LEARNING A SECOND FOREIGN LANGUAGE

Students are given the opportunity to learn a second foreign language to gain an additional competitive advantage. Therefore, a second foreign language, in addition to English, is part of the curriculum and a mandatory requirement for all students. Each student is offered one of the following languages — French, German, and Spanish-for three semesters (foreign students are also given the opportunity to learn Russian as a foreign language). 

 

PRACTICAL APPLICATION OF KNOWLEDGE

Consulting project instead of dissertation 

During the training period, students are given the opportunity to participate in real projects of partner companies, work with real data, apply their theoretical knowledge in practice and communicate with professionals in their industry. As a graduation thesis, students carry out a group project in a team of 2-3 people on the company's instructions. Representatives of the company supervise and advise the project team, as well as provide all the necessary materials. 

 

Summer internship

After the first year of study, each student passes a mandatory internship in one of the partner companies of GSOM SPBU. This part of the program is designed to help students learn how to apply their theoretical knowledge and practical skills in a real business environment. The internship lasts at least 6 weeks and usually takes place in the largest Russian or international companies. 

 

CURRICULUM

You can see the General structure of program in the table below.

 

MASTER'S THESIS 

As a final thesis, students perform a group project on the company's instructions. Representatives of the company supervise and advise the project team, as well as provide all necessary materials. 

 

Faculty

 

The staff of the School includes lectures with experience in leading foreign business schools, guest lecturers from the best foreign business schools, and representatives of the professional community. 

Giovanni Schiuma

PhD, Professor, University of Basilicata, Italy

Course:
Business Value of Data

 

Vladimir A. Gorovoy

Candidate of Science in Computer Science, Senior Lecturer, GSOM SPbU, Russia

Course:
Data-driven Decision Making for Product Managers

 

Veronica Brom

Senior Consultant,
Gartner

Course:
Business Intelligence and Data Visualization

 

Evgeny Malyutin

Data Scientist, Odnoklassniki, Mail.Ru Group

Course:
Natural Language and Image Processing

 

Career prospects

 

The strong corporate ties of GSOM SPBU and the regular interaction of students with companies during their studies create good career prospects both in Russia and abroad.

Possible career paths in analytics and big data include the following positions:

Chief Data Officer

Chief Innovation Officer

Chief Product Officer

Data Science Product Manager

 

CAREER CENTER

The Career Center actively helps students and graduates with the search for internships and work. Students receive newsletters of current vacancies in partner companies, students are advised on the preparation and updating of resumes, they are recommended exhibitions and employment events. More information about the Career Center can be found here >>>. 

 

STORIES OF SUCCESS 

GSOM SPBU closely monitors the career development of graduates, regularly collects data about the companies where they work, and interviews them. To view graduate success storiesclick here >>>

Рус | Eng

Программа «Бизнес аналитика и большие данные» (Master in Business Analytics and Big Data – MiBA)

  

 

Степень: Магистр

Направление: 38.04.02 «Менеджмент»

Трудоемкость: 120 ECTS

Язык обучения: Английский

Семестр обучения за рубежом: По желанию для общего потока студентов. Обязателен при обучении на программах по модели «Два диплома»

Опции международных программ: LUT-Lappeenranta

 

Цифровая трансформация бизнеса определяет компаниям во всех отраслях новые вызовы эффективности. Конкурентоспособность зависит не столько от наличия материальных и финансовых ресурсов, сколько от способности компании принимать решения на основе анализа больших объемов данных, полученных из цифровой среды. Это влечет за собой рост спроса на специалистов в сфере бизнес-аналитики и менеджеров кросс-функциональных команд, которые способны на основе количественного анализа данных предлагать эффективные решения бизнеса. Ответом на этот запрос рынка и стало открытие программы Master in Business Analytics and Big Data в 2018 году.

 

 

 

Особенности

 

Содержание

 

Преподаватели

 

Карьера

 

Отличительные черты программы «Бизнес-аналитика и Большие данные»

 

Акцент на практику

Все курсы программы реализуются с участием сотрудников ведущих российских и международных компаний. Они обладают актуальными знаниями и навыками и готовы делиться своим опытом со студентами. Например, в число преподавателей MiBA входят руководители Data Science проектов компании Одноклассники (курс “NLP&CV”) и заместитель генерального директора Segmento (курс “Digital Marketing”). Кроме этого, гостевые лекции — традиционная практика на программе.

 

Баланс hard skills и soft skills

Программа MiBA ориентирована на подготовку руководителей различного уровня, обладающих как управленческими знаниями, так и практическими навыками в области обработки и анализа данных, проектного и продуктового менеджмента. Программа содержит курсы, направленные на развитие управленческих навыков, такие как “Contemporary Strategic Analysis”, “Technology Entrepreneurship”, “Manager Professional Skills” и “Big Data Project Management”. Не менее 40% курсов являются инструментальными. Например, курсы “Statistical Programming in Python”, “Machine Learning”, “Enterprise Architecture”, “Marketing Analytics”, “Design Thinking”.

 

Семестр по обмену

Одно из преимуществ программы — возможность прохождения включенного обучения в школах-партнерах ВШМ СПбГУ. После первого семестра студенты участвуют в конкурсном отборе, выбирая интересующие их зарубежные бизнес-школы. Количество вузов-партнеров, с которыми ВШМ СПбГУ реализует двусторонние программы обменов, с каждым годом растёт. Сегодня оно превышает 75 школ, которые в свою очередь являются мировыми и национальными лидерами в бизнес образовании. География школ-партнеров ВШМ СПбГУ также обширна и охватывает практически все часовые пояса и континенты. Студенты MiBA имеют возможность выбора курсов специализированных программ партнеров, например, BI в Норвежской бизнес-школе и NOVA в Лиссабоне.

Узнать больше о включенном обучении >>>

 

Двойной диплом

Студенты программы имеют возможность пройти дополнительный конкурс и поступить на программу двойного диплома с финским университетом LUT-Lappeenranta. В ходе программы студенты проведут от одного семестра в университете-партнёре, а по результатам обучения получат дополнительную степень (Master of Business Administration) и второй диплом.

Узнать больше о о программах по модели «Два диплома» >>>

 

Особенности обучения

 

Программа нацелена на разностороннее развитие студентов — как с точки зрения профессиональных бизнес-навыков, так и в части развития аналитических способностей. Обучение проводится на английском языке.

 

ОБЩИЕ ДИСЦИПЛИНЫ

Машинное обучение

Во время курса студенты ознакомятся с основами применения машинного обучения в различных областях экономики и управления, а также научатся проводить анализы данных с использованием современных методов машинного обучения и интерпретировать полученные результаты расчетов. Полученные навыки позволят студентам уверенно работать в современной статистической и программной среде.

 

Управление проектами в области больших данных

Цель данного курса — овладеть принципами эффективного планирования и контроля проектов, включая анализ потребностей, разделение задач, планирование рабочего процесса, распределение ресурсов, управление рисками, отслеживание и оценку эффективности. Студенты ознакомятся с основными функциями руководителя проектов, узнают разницу между менеджментом обычных проектов и проектов с большими данными, изучат инструменты управления (RedMine, Jira, Agile и т.д.).

 

Маркетинговая аналитика

Курс охватывает маркетинговые принципы и направлен на ознакомление с фундаментальными идеями и концепциями, применимыми к изучению цифрового маркетинга. Студенты научатся выявлять, отслеживать и анализировать рекламные механики, а также проводить маркетинговые кампании в социальных сетях. Студенты также узнают, как измерять и оценивать результаты и эффективность кампаний. Курс реализуется совместно с Segmento — компанией, которая создала платформу, использующую искусственный интеллект для оптимизации таргетирования цифровой рекламы и разработки цифровой стратегии в режиме реального времени.

 

Предпринимательство

Курс нацелен на развитие критического понимания того, как превратить большие данные в бизнес и социальную ценность путем их интеграции в организационную бизнес-модель. Цель курса — вооружить студентов практическими подходами и инструментами для разработки, внедрения и оценки того, как организации могут разрабатывать стратегии цифровой трансформации и инновации бизнес-моделей с использованием больших массивов данных. В целом, данный модуль дает четкое представление того, как управление большими данными может повысить потенциал компании по созданию добавленной стоимости.

 

ДИСЦИПЛИНЫ ПО ВЫБОРУ

Программа также предполагает наличие большого количества дисциплин, которые студент выбирает себе сам. Эти курсы позволят студентам получить более углубленные знания или, наоборот, расширить их.

Архитектура предприятия

Архитектура предприятия обеспечивает структурированный подход к реализации стратегии, что позволяет эффективно и результативно преобразовывать предприятия. Курс включает в себя анализ и проектирование предприятия в его нынешнем и будущем состоянии с точки зрения бизнеса и технологий. Студенты ознакомятся с преимуществами и основополагающими концепциями, методологией и основными инструментами предмета, узнают, как сервисы архитектуры предприятия помогают интегрировать методы бизнес-планирования и технологического планирования, а также научатся создавать и внедрять архитектуру предприятия.

 

Дизайн-мышление

На курсе студенты получат знания о методах креативного мышления, укрепят имеющиеся навыки управления творческим процессом инноваций в типичном организационном контексте. Курс направлен на развитие навыков творческого мышления, междисциплинарного сотрудничества, творческого общения и презентаций, а также специальных управленческих навыков.

 

Поведение потребителей

Ряд последних тенденций в поведении потребителей обсуждается и анализируется с точки зрения возможностей фирмы принимать решения и получать информацию о потребителях. В рамках учебного проекта студенты представляют, обсуждают и применяют соответствующие передовые подходы, концепции и инструменты маркетинговых исследований.

 

РАЗВИТИЕ ПРОФЕССИОНАЛЬНЫХ НАВЫКОВ

Практические семинары и тренинги по развитию «мягких» навыков помогают расширить кругозор и умения студентов. План тренингов включает обучение созданию презентаций, работы в команде, ведению деловой переписки и переговоров, а также на отработку коммуникативных и социальных навыков. Помимо развития «мягких» компетенция, в ходе программы проводятся тренинге по работе со специальными программными продуктами. Все тренинги предполагают активное вовлечение представителей российских и международных компаний-корпоративных партнеров ВШМ СПбГУ.

 

ИЗУЧЕНИЕ ВТОРОГО ИНОСТРАННОГО ЯЗЫКА

Студентам предоставляется возможность изучить второй иностранный язык для получения дополнительного конкурентного преимущества. Поэтому второй иностранный язык, помимо английского, является частью учебного плана и обязательным требованием для всех обучающихся. Каждому студенту предлагается изучение одного из следующих языков — французского, немецкого, испанского — в течение трех семестров (для иностранных студентов также предоставляется возможность изучать русский язык как иностранный).

 

ПРОВЕРКА ЗНАНИЙ НА ПРАКТИКЕ

Консультационный проект вместо дисертации

В период обучения студентам предоставляется возможность поучаствовать в реальных проектах компаний-партнеров, поработать с настоящими данными, применить полученные теоретические знания в деле и пообщаться с профессионалами своей отрасли в рабочей обстановке. В качестве выпускной дипломной работы студенты выполняют групповой проект в команде из 2-3- человек по заданию компании. Представители компании курируют и консультируют проектную команду, а также предоставляют все необходимые материалы.

 

Летняя производственная практика

После первого года обучения каждый студент проходит обязательную производственную практику в одной из компаний-партнёров ВШМ СПбГУ. Эта часть программы направлена на то, чтобы помочь студенту научиться применять полученные теоретические знания и практические навыки в условиях реального бизнеса. Стажировка длится не менее 6 недель и проходит, как правило, в крупнейших российских или международных компаниях.

 

УЧЕБНЫЙ ПЛАН

Вы можете ознакомиться с общей структурой обучения в таблице ниже или скачать учебный план для поступающих в 2019 году по ссылке.

Скачать учебный план >>> 

loop

МАГИСТЕРСКАЯ ДИССЕРТАЦИЯ

В качестве выпускной дипломной работы студенты выполняют групповой проект по заданию компании. Представители компании курируют и консультируют проектную команду, а также предоставляют все необходимые материалы.

 

Преподавательский состав

 

Профессорско-преподавательский состав Школы, это преподаватели с опытом работы в ведущих зарубежных школах бизнеса, гостевые лекторы из лучших зарубежных бизнес-школ и представители-лидеры профессионального сообщества.

 

  

  •  

    Гиленко Евгений Валерьевич
    К.э.н., доцент кафедры государственного и муниципального управления

    Преподаваемые курсы: Statistical Programming in Python, Machine Learning

     

    Федотов Юрий Васильевич
    К.э.н., доцент кафедры операционного менеджмента

    Преподаваемые курсы: Managerial Economics

  •  

    Иоаннис Кристодолоу
    PhD, профессор, Университет Вестминстера, Великобритания

    Преподаваемые курсы: Contemporary Strategic Analysis

     

    Куликов Александр Вадимович
    Заместитель генерального директора, Segmento

    Преподаваемые курсы: Marketing Analytics

.

 

Карьерные перспективы

 

Сильные корпоративные связи ВШМ СПбГУ и регулярное взаимодействие студентов с компаниями по ходу обучения создают хорошие карьерные перспективы как в России, так и за рубежом.

К возможным карьерным траекториям в сфере аналитики и больших данных можно отнести следующие позиции:

Chief Data Officer

Chief Innovation Officer

Chief Product Officer

Data Science Product Manager

 

ЦЕНТР КАРЬЕР

Центр карьер активно помогает студентам и выпускникам с поиском стажировок и работы. В рамках корпоративной почты настроена рассылка актуальных вакансий в компаниях партнёров, студентов консультируют по составлению и обновлению резюме, рекомендуют выставки и мероприятия по трудоустройству. Подробнее про Центр карьер можно узнать по ссылке >>>.

 

ИСТОРИИ УСПЕХА

ВШМ СПбГУ внимательно следит за карьерным развитием выпускников, регулярно собирает данные о компаниях, в которых они работают, и берет интервью. Ознакомиться с историями успеха выпускников можно по ссылке>>>

  

 

Интервью с академическим директором